The Four Elements

Our world is composed of fire, earth, air and water. We cannot live without the heat of the sun, the fruits of the earth, breathing air and drinking water. The element-principle is fundamental in many evolved schools of thought such as Ayurveda, Chinese medicine and Shamanism.

In astrology, each sign belongs to one of these four elements. Understanding the elements is one of the most important keys to reading birth charts. My teacher, Debra Silverman, wrote an entire book on the subject, The Missing Element. I strongly advise you to read this book. 

Review the characteristics of each element. To which elements did you relate the most? These are your strong elements. To which elements did you not relate at all? These are weak elements that might need strengthening. 


Signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius

Houses: 1,5,9
Fire people are:

energetic, fun, spontaneous, alert, direct, passionate, charismatic, inspiring, physical, loud, assertive, impulsive, courageous, enthusiastic, need to move energy, love to indulge, have a strong sense of justice and are willing to fight for it.

Signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn
Houses: 2,6,10
Earth people are:

grounded, pragmatic, practical, focused, goal-oriented, determined, disciplined, organized, reliable, loyal, stable, sensual, nature-lovers, task-performers, need financial security, good with money, love to build, grow and cook, love routine, have strong bodies, respect and maintain their bodies well.

Signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius
Houses: 3,7,11
Air people are:

unique, intelligent, smart, sharp, fast, analytical, sociable, love people, curious, inquisitive, fascinating and fascinated, spontaneous, inspiring,  gifted communicators, need frequent changes, live inside their heads, easily distracted, need constant mental stimulation.

Signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces
Houses: 4,8,12
Water people are:

wise, emotional, sensitive, highly intuitive, have strong gut feelings, spiritual, mystical, quiet, sensual, need alone time, healers, love privacy, connect to other worlds and other dimensions, fascinated by symbols and dreams, have a deep understanding of the subconscious and the human psyche.